Though I think you’re perfectly swell…

I was hoping to go into town tonight to book a rehearsal space (studio) for Monday night. I know Gould has class on Monday nights, but it also turns out that Edie can’t attend either because she has tech for the EmStage show. Her involvement with tech is part of a class and if she misses even one night of it she will fail the class. Ginny says that I should run rehearsal anyway and just stand in for the two absent roles, because I have to keep it going. This would be fine but then I wouldn’t be able to see how it looks and take note of any errors. All I’d be able to do if I didn’t stand in for Gould and Edie is have Joe and Edith run their dialogue about “Body Beautiful Beale”, which is pointless because they have it memorized and it doesn’t need any work. Though it might piss ST off, I think it’d be better to just skip a week. I don’t want anyone to fall behind anyone else.

I told Gould what his blocking cues are (only two: stand up, sit down). And he has his few singing bits memorized. Joe has only a few bits in “Mother Darling” and he has his dialogue memorized as well. And, of course, Edith is a comfort and a joy because she’s so on top of things it’s ridiculous. Everyone is, actually. They’re being so understanding and patient and cooperative, given the fact that their schedules are horrifying. They’re not coming to me all “well you knew I had these conflicts, so you’re a dumb fuck for casting me”. No. They make the best of a tricky situation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment